Original Story And Video Lewis Hamilton and Jessica Ennis-Hill headline an impressive list of sportsmen and women nominated for the second LycaMobile British Ethnic Diversity Sports Awards. Reigning Formula 1 world champion Hamilton will go head-to-head with James DeGale, the IBF World super-middleweight champion, and Yorkshire and England all-rounder Adil Rashid, for the coveted Sportsman of the Year award. The finalists for Sportswoman of the Year award feature Olympic heptathlon champion Ennis-Hill who won gold at the World Championships earlier this year; Rachel Choong, who made history winning three gold medals at the Para-Badminton World Championships and World Cup football semi-finalist and Chelsea’s double winner Eniola Aluko. Anthony Joshua walks out for his fight with Dillian Whyte British heavyweight boxing sensation Anthony Joshua is nominated for UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year after four knockouts from four fights in 2015. He will be up against para-badminton star Choong and Kadeena Cox, who won gold at the IPC Athletics World Championships 12 months after being diagnosed with multiple sclerosis. Organised by Sporting Equals, the 2016 LycaMobile BEDSAs will once again celebrate excellence amongst Britain’s outstanding Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) communities, with the awards taking place on Saturday, February 6 at the Grosvenor House in London. Jessica Ennis-Hill of Great Britain celebrates after winning the Women’s Heptathlon ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW THIS ADVERT Commenting on his first nomination, Hamilton said: “I am proud to be nominated alongside a great group of sportsmen and women and very thankful to Sporting Equals for all the work they are doing to recognise and reward sporting excellence.” Other categories include young sportsperson of the year, unsung hero of the year, coach of the year, inspirational performance of the year and lifetime achievement, which was won by Olympic heptathlon gold medallist and broadcaster Denise Lewis in 2015. This year’s judges include Rugby World Cup winner Maggie Alphonsi MBE, former West Bromwich Albion favourite Brendon Batson OBE and retired international athletes Derek Redmond and Jason Gardner MBE. Seven of the awards at the event will be voted for by the public, with voting lines opening on December 21. For more information or to cast your vote visit the BEDSA website or call one of the following numbers: Categories: The Youth Sport Trust Young Sports Person of the Year – 0871 204 024 1 The Unsung Hero – 0871 204 024 2 The Professional Footballers Association Coach of the Year – 0871 204 024 3 The UK Sport Inspirational Performance of the Year – 0871 204 024 4 The Sport England Community Sports Project of the Year – 0871 204 024 5 The Sporting Equals Sportswoman of the Year – 0871 204 024 6 The Lycamobile Sportsman of the Year – 0871 204 024 7 Calls cost 10p per minute from BT landlines, charges from other providers or mobiles may vary]]>